Background

Sports practice is like the Roman God Janus, it has two faces. On the one hand, regular physical activity promotes health and reduces cardiovascular risk factors1. On the other hand, the risk of heart failures is increased during and immediately after exercise2,3. These sports-related cardiac events concern both untrained and well-trained athletes with no previously known cardiac diseases4.

Sports-related sudden cardiac death in the general population is more frequent than often suspected5, 6. However it often occurs in a predictable setting, allowing preventing measures, prompt interventions and improving survival rates.

Aware of the current lack of systematic information on sports-related cardiac events in Luxembourg, the SRMCV approached the Sports Medicine Research Laboratory of LIH for the present project. The general aim is to determine the sports-related cardiac event burden in Luxembourg and recommend appropriate risk mitigation strategies.


1 Shephard, R. J., & Balady, G. J. (1999). Exercise as cardiovascular therapy. Circulation, 99(7), 963-972.
2 Albert, C. M., Mittleman, M. A., Chae, C. U., Lee, I. M., Hennekens, C. H., & Manson, J. E. (2000). Triggering of sudden death from cardiac causes by vigorous exertion. N Engl J Med, 343(19), 1355-1361.
3 Siscovick, D. S., Weiss, N. S., Fletcher, R. H., & Lasky, T. (1984). The incidence of primary cardiac arrest during vigorous exercise. N Engl J Med, 311(14), 874-877.
4 Maron, B. J. (2003). Sudden death in young athletes. N Engl J Med, 349(11), 1064-1075.
5 Chevalier, L., Hajjar, M., Douard, H., Cherief, A., Dindard, J. M., Sedze, F., et al. (2009). Sports-related acute cardiovascular events in a general population: a French prospective study. Eur J Cardiovasc Prev Rehabil, 16(3), 365-370.
6 Marijon, E., Tafflet, M., Celermajer, D. S., Dumas, F., Perier, M. C., Mustafic, H., et al. (2011). Sports-related sudden death in the general population. Circulation, 124(6), 672-681.

Hintergrund

Das Ausüben von sportlichen Aktivitäten hat wie der römische Gott Janus zwei Gesichter. Auf der einen Seite fördert regelmäßige körperliche Aktivität die Gesundheit und reduziert die kardiovaskulären Risikofaktoren1. Andererseits ist die Gefahr einer Herzinsuffizienz während und unmittelbar nach dem Sport erhöht2,3. Diese sportbezogenen kardialen Ereignisse betreffen dabei unerfahrene wie durchtrainierte Athleten gleichermaßen und ohne jegliche bekannte Herz-Vorerkrankungen4.

Sportbezogener plötzlicher Herztod kommt in der allgemeinen Bevölkerung häufiger vor als angenommen5,6. Allerdings tritt dieser oft in vorhersehbaren Momentan auf, was dazu führt, dass schnelle Interventionen und somit erhöhte Überlebensraten möglich sind.

Im Bewusstsein des derzeitigen Mangels an systematischen Informationen zu sportbezogenen kardialen Ereignissen in Luxemburg trat die SRMCV an das sportmedizinische Forschungslabor des LIH heran, um das vorliegende Projekt zu realisieren. Das allgemeine Ziel ist es, die Anzahl von sportbezogenen kardialen Ereignissen in Luxemburg festzustellen sowie geeignete Strategien zur Risikominderung zu empfehlen.


1 Shephard, R. J., & Balady, G. J. (1999). Exercise as cardiovascular therapy. Circulation, 99(7), 963-972.
2 Albert, C. M., Mittleman, M. A., Chae, C. U., Lee, I. M., Hennekens, C. H., & Manson, J. E. (2000). Triggering of sudden death from cardiac causes by vigorous exertion. N Engl J Med, 343(19), 1355-1361.
3 Siscovick, D. S., Weiss, N. S., Fletcher, R. H., & Lasky, T. (1984). The incidence of primary cardiac arrest during vigorous exercise. N Engl J Med, 311(14), 874-877.
4 Maron, B. J. (2003). Sudden death in young athletes. N Engl J Med, 349(11), 1064-1075.
5 Chevalier, L., Hajjar, M., Douard, H., Cherief, A., Dindard, J. M., Sedze, F., et al. (2009). Sports-related acute cardiovascular events in a general population: a French prospective study. Eur J Cardiovasc Prev Rehabil, 16(3), 365-370.
6 Marijon, E., Tafflet, M., Celermajer, D. S., Dumas, F., Perier, M. C., Mustafic, H., et al. (2011). Sports-related sudden death in the general population. Circulation, 124(6), 672-681.